Where has innovation gone? (Xbox One)

Standard

So they just released the Xbox One and I watched the whole of the unveiling. It was a good upgrade with more memory, a better Kinect sensor, no backwards compatibility… 😉 So if you look at it, what really new has been added? Of course, it will sell because when all your friends have one, you just can’t be caught with one of those ancient 360s (do you know how old those things are?). All it really is comes down to some updated specs and stuff that the Microsoft execs can brainwash people into thinking is ‘new’ and ‘revolutionary’ and they can overuse the word ‘unprecedented’ on to try and make it look like they actually have been doing something for the 6+ years they should have been working on it.

20130521-204637.jpg

I know that I am quote hypocritical with my argument since the Apple launches are all like this and everyone (I admit, me as well) is brainwashed into it, but it was because Steve only really unveiled large things at a Keynote and not other, smaller items which are just minor upgrades (can I just mention that it was Steve who started the we’ve-got-a-revolutionary-new-product-and-we-have-to-show-you Keynotes). Not with a few extra rams under the hood and a new processor… That’s what Intel and AMD are for, not what a gaming company is for.

I don’t know about Microsoft but Apple said that they have only a few products so that they can really concentrate on each model and that there are not 50 ‘different’ models that have to be named like dishwashers. But seriously, what have they been doing. Microsoft has had over 6 years to do something and Apple had two years after doing the utmost minimum with the 4S, the iPhone 5 should have been the HTC One, but with a better, more stable but less customisable OS.

Please, let there not be just a 5S, let there be a 5S and a 6 which will have new, larger screens, updated OS and make me actually want to upgrade from my 4 to it. At the moment, I am seriously considering another brand and I really don’t want to. I’m into the ecosystem and I don’t want to exit, but if its just a minor 5S, I will have to.

~James

One thought on “Where has innovation gone? (Xbox One)

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

