Why the Razer Edge is a flawed device from the start

Standard

The Razer Edge is a gaming tablet. ‘A gaming tablet?’ I hear you cry. Yes a thick, overpowered tablet with low battery life and the ability to play high end games. It could also be interpreted as a low end gaming laptop with a low battery life, lacking a physical keyboard for any real interaction as a laptop should be. Any way, its overpriced for what it is. Yes it is a new concept, but the iPad or Nexus 10 can handle any games you would ever want on a tablet and if you really were interested in gaming, you would have skipped over this and gone straight for a gaming pc or laptop. So what is the target market for this device? Well there isn’t really one or well there is but it is a miniature niche market for some people who want to game occasionally however not too far from a plug socket (due to its low 1hr battery life) and do not want to carry round a laptop, plus have a lot to blow on something which can game, but not as highly as a PC that they could have built with better specs and a keyboard for interaction.

The Razer Edge is a gaming tablet for PC gamers

The Razer Edge therefore is a complete contradiction of what it is supposed to be. A tablet is designed for long battery life, media consumption and the occasional game (which can be quite graphically intensive in some cases e.g. the iPad 4). It meets 2/3 however the occasional game turns into hardcore gaming. I find it really hard to see someone with a tablet being constantly hooked to a power socket. A tablet is designed to be manoeuvred about the house. I don’t even leave my MacBook Air plugged in whilst I’m playing Minecraft or suchlike. Why would I want a portable device that leaves me hooked to a wall when with a gaming laptop or even PC I can have a lot more power for a similar price.

The Razer Edge isn’t really flawed from the start. A bit of exaggeration in the title, but I had to get my point across. The Edge will sell no doubt but I don’t think it will sell amazingly well or be a tablet competitor. I hope that it does open up a whole new category of gaming devices however it seems to early for its time and as we know, this can be bad sometimes.

4 thoughts on “Why the Razer Edge is a flawed device from the start

  1. I really love the website and can’t read enough about it! Thanks for sharing this information with us, I will return every day to read more. Thanks for this site!

  2. Thanks for some other informative site. The place else may just I get that kind of info written in such an ideal approach? I have a mission that I’m simply now operating on, and I’ve been at the look out for such info.

Leave a Reply

